General CAM belt change - how much?

Currently reading:
General CAM belt change - how much?

mikiec

Hi,
I'm new to the world of FIAT ownership and this forum's been very helpful to me, so I was hoping I could ask for your collective opinions...

My newly bought 98(S) Marea Weekend TD75 SX has done 72k. I knew this when I bought it and that the FIAT recommendation is to change the CAM belt at 72k. After doing a lot of research on t'internet I found that the cost of changing the CAM belt would be about £150-ish on a four-cylinder diesel to about £450-ish for the 5 cylinder JTDs.... this affected my choice of car (along with a range of other factors), given that it was likely that a new cam-belt would be required not long after I bought any Marea to be on the safe side.

However, I'm now being quoted £320+ for this work and given that I also need to have some work done on the front wishbone bushes, it's going to end up being expensive... I say expensive, relative to the cost of the actual car itself.

Am I being shafted or is this a reasonable price to pay for this work and was my original information duff?

I hope someone can shed some light on this for me.

Thanks

Im getting mine done on my brava for £250 and thats including the water pump how good are you with a set of spanners, cos wishbones is something that can be done by yourself and is about £30-40 delivered (cheaper if you go to your local motor factor)

Im getting mine done on my brava for £250 and thats including the water pump how good are you with a set of spanners, cos wishbones is something that can be done by yourself and is about £30-40 delivered (cheaper if you go to your local motor factor)

Well, I've been quoted about £230 (inc VAT) at that place in Woolwich that you recommended. He's also quoted me £75 each for the arms + labour, so about £165 per side.