Technical 2000 Palio EL 1.6 clutch replacement

Currently reading:
Technical 2000 Palio EL 1.6 clutch replacement

Brian De Cruz

Hi All ... newbie here ... glad to find a Fiat forum :)
I recently had my clutch replaced (yesterday) and its seems very "soft" and engages right at the bottom of the "pedal travel"
It used to ride quite high and be a bit stiff. Is a new clutch supposed to be so soft ? the mechanic assures me its normal .... its the "button clutch" which to my limited knowledge is used for racing surely ???
I have so many questions but will post extra threads if anyone is still responding to these posts here ...

Thanks in advance for any help with this !

Welcome!

What modal year is your Palio?
Is the clutch cable or hydraulic operated?
A new clutch, always feels "soft" btw.

I just noticed it is a 2000 model, so the clutch is cable operated.
You can have the pedal/clutch engaging anywhere you want it, by adjusting the cable, easy.

Last edited:
Hi Peter

Thanks for the reply ... my only concern is that it now engages quite low down to the floor, but I will give it a few days and see if there is any difference in pedal travel. I may just get them to adjust the cable if it stays this way (y)

Thanks mate .... I wouldnt have known what to tell the mechanic myself ! I have one last question ... the lifters on the engine are clattering badly ... the problem hasnt got worse in over a year ... how bad would it be to take the vehicle on a long trip ... or over a certain speed ? I assume they just draw oil up from the sump ... is there anything else I should know besides that ? I am going to replace them when I have the bux ....

They are hydraulic operated, by means of oilpressure.
It is essential to use a quality oil with the correct viscosity, and change it frequently, together with a good oilfilter.
I use synthetic Castrol Edge Sport 0W40 in our Palio, with Fram or Bosch oilfilter.